Remember: The Library runs a regular programme of lunchtime training sessions to help you get the most of these resources; see the Library training workshops area of the Library website for further details and booking information.
Web of Knowledge (WoK)
Gives access to:
- Current Contents Connect
Bibliographic records from 8,000 journals and 2,000 books. Current contents pages can be viewed for individual journal titles.
- ISI Proceedings
2.5 million records from over 60,000 conferences held since 1990 and is updated weekly. Can be searched simultaneously with other ISI databases.
- ISI Web of Science
Multidisciplinary bibliographic database which indexes around 8,700 international journals, and is updated weekly. Full-text links are provided where content is available.
- CAB Abstracts
Bibliographic records of research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources.
Subject specific databases
CSA IllumIna (CambrIdge ScientIfic Abstracts)
Gives access to:
- Oceanic Abstracts
Marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
- ASFA: Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts
Aquatic pollution, brackish, freshwater and marine environments, conservation and wildlife management.
- Biological Sciences
Biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology, entomology, ecology, toxicology, marine biology and a wide range of other life sciences subjects.
- Biology Digest
Covers a huge area of life sciences subjects – anatomy, biochemistry, ecology, entomology, evolution, forestry, genetics, medicine, physiology, population studies, toxicology, virology and zoology to name a few.
- BioOne Abstracts & Indexes
Ecology, entomology, environmental science, genetics, microbiology, parasitology, zoology and many more bioscience subjects.
- Biotechnology & Engineering Abstracts
All areas of biotechnology and bioengineering including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.
- Entomology Abstracts
Insects, arachnids, myriapods, onychophorans, terrestrial isopods and their genetics, physiology, behaviour and biology.
All areas of toxicology including chemicals, pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, mutagens and teratogens. Produced by the US National Library of Medicine.
Produced by the US National Library of Medicine and covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and the preclinical sciences. Contains over 12 million citations and abstracts from more than 4,800 biomedical journals, dating from 1966. PubMed is the freely available web-based version of Medline.
Publishes peer-reviewed research across all areas of biology and medicine, with immediate, barrier-free access to original research articles in a number of publications, including Journal of Biology, Genome Biology, and Critical Care. Publishing in BMC journals is free for all UK universities; instructions for authors are made available.
Index to Theses
Citations and abstracts of UK and Ireland higher degree theses and dissertations. Citations date from 1716 onwards with abstracts being available from 1970 onwards.
ProQuest dissertations & theses (PQDT)
Citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities.